Deadline: 30 November 2017

The Islamic Development Bank (IDB) is currently inviting applicants for the 16th edition of its IDB Prizes for Science and Technology to promote comprehensive human development, with a focus on the priority areas of alleviating poverty, improving health, promoting education, improving governance and allowing people to prosper.


  • Acknowledge and encourage the achievements of the successful institutions
  • Promote sound and fruitful competition among the science and technology education and research institutions in Member Countries towards achieving excellence
  • Raise awareness of policy among decision makers about the present and potential contribution of science and technology to sustainable development

Prize Information

Each prize will consist of a cash award of one hundred thousand (100,000) US dollars, a trophy and a certificate mentioning the name of the winner and its accomplishments.

Prize Categories

The Prizes are awarded only to institutions (not to individuals) in IDB member countries in the following categories:

  • Category 1: Outstanding scientific or technological contribution to the socio-economic development of a member country.
  • Category 2: Outstanding contribution to any of the following scientific disciplines: Engineering; Agriculture; Medicine; Biotechnology; Information Technology; Optronics; Material Sciences; Pharmaceutical; Industrial Microelectronics; Nanotechnology and alternative Energy Sources.
  • Category 3: Noted scientific research institutions in IDB least developed member countries (LDMCs).

Eligibility Criteria

Applications are invited from national, regional and international academic/research/development institutions in IDBI Member countries (mentioned below).


Eligible Countries: Afghanistan, Saudi Arabia, Libya, Iran, Nigeria, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Egypt, Kuwait, Turkey, Algeria, Pakistan, Indonesia, Malaysia, Bangladesh, Yemen, Morocco, Sudan, Jordan, Senegal, Oman, Iraq, Brunei, Cameroon, Burkina Faso, Niger, Gabon, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Mali, Guinea, Tunisia, Lebanon, Mauritania, Bahrain, Mozambique, Maldives, Kyrghyz, Gambia, Uganda, Benin, Palestine, Syria, Tajikistan, Togo, Sierra Leone, Uzbekistan, Comoros, Cote D’Ivoire, Chad, Albania, Suriname, Djibouti, Guinea-Bissau, Somalia, Turkmenistan, Guyana.

For more information, please visit IDB Prizes for Science and Technology.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.