Nomination period: January 1, 2021- June 30, 2021 (11:00 GMT)

Introductory information

Nominations are now open for the 2021 BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards. The awards honor remarkable contributions and world-class research in a wide array of fields of scientific knowledge, technology, humanities, and artistic productions by excellent individuals or organizations. The BBVA Foundation in collaboration with the Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) is organizing this award.  Hence, if you are one of those, you couldn’t wait to apply for the 14th edition of these awards.

BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards Details

Nomination period: January 1, 2021- June 30, 2021 (11:00 GMT)

Awarding body: BBVA Foundation 

Country: Spain

Award decision: April 30, 2022

Award value and other prizes

The awards comprise 400,000 euros, a diploma, and a commemorative artwork in each of the eight award categories.

If more than one person wins the award, its monetary amount will be divided equally among all awardees.

Award ceremony

The Frontiers Awards will be presented at a formal ceremony to be organized during June 2022 in the Euskalduna Conference Centre, Bilbao. A gala concert will also take place the evening before at the same venue.

Award categories

The BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards categories are:

  1. Basic Sciences (Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics)
  2. Biology and Biomedicine
  3. Information and Communication Technologies
  4. Ecology and Conservation Biology
  5. Climate Change
  6. Economics, Finance, and Management
  7. Humanities and Social Sciences
  8. Music and Opera


  • Candidates may be of any nationality worldwide.
  • Nominees may be one person or more natural people without limitation of number, but no candidate can be nominated in more than one category.
  • Candidates must have made independent or convergent contributions to a defined advance, whether because of a formal partnership (with the nominees relating to one or more groups) or parallel working.
  • Scientific or cultural organizations can also apply for the award and can be collectively credited with excellent contributions to scientific knowledge, cultural creation or the battle against climate change.
  • Award winners must agree to attend the awarding ceremony. In the case of awards going to teams, there will be no more than three representatives of the team members to attend the ceremony.
  • Awards may not be conferrable posthumously.

How to Apply

Application process is online. The Vice-President (Research) encourages nominations for this award, and will serve as nominator for those nominees recommended by the Honours and Awards Advisory Committee. 

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.