Deadline: 12 February 2021

Overview of the award

Nominations are now open for the United Nations Environment Program’s (UNEP) ‘Champions of the Earth’ Award 2021.

The Champions of the Earth award is the United Nation’s most prestigious environmental honor that recognizes exceptional leaders from government, civil society and the private sector whose actions have an extraordinary impact on the environment. Champions of the Earth stimulate, defend, mobilize and act to combat the most pressing environmental challenges of our time. So, are you an individual concerned about and passionate about preserving our planet’s environment and changing the world? If yes, this is a good chance for you to win awards.

The theme of the “Champions of the Earth Award” is: (Together, #ActforNature).


Deadline: 12 February 2021

Award coordinator and host: United Nations Environment Program (UNEP)

Scope: Global

Focus area: Environmental Change

Award value:

Champions of the Earth get rewarded with different awards according to the award categories. In general, UNEP recognizes the most transformative action made in a specific category for which to award the Champion of the Earth” title.

Award categories

The award includes the following categories:

  • Lifetime Achievement
  • Policy Leadership
  • Inspiration and Action
  • Science and Innovation
  • Entrepreneurial Vision


  • Laureates will be invited to the award presentation ceremony (physically or remotely);
  • They will receive the highest United Nations honor in commemoration of their efforts and contributions; and
  • Champions will receive global recognition by winning the award.

Who can be nominated?

  • Nominations are open to everyone and nominees can be individuals, government agencies, companies and other organizations.

Previous editions

Since 2005, Champions of the Earth has honored 93 laureates, ranging from world leaders to technology inventors.

The champions include 22 world leaders, 57 individuals, and 14 groups or organizations who, as the environmental trailblazers, making a difference to protect our planet for the next generation.

How To Apply

Nominators can nominate the champions (“applicants”) online through the following link.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.