Deadline: 15 June 2021


Full-time journalists who are working in developing countries and countries with economies in transition seeking a fellowship to enhance their understanding of the United Nations and uplift their journalistic career can apply to this fellowship.

Program summary

UN headquarters in New York hosts the Reham Al-Farra Memorial Journalism Fellowship program each year for three weeks. This program is designed for young journalism of developing countries and the countries with economies in transition to promote their understanding of UN in their home countries as well as cover the UN General Assembly.

Field: journalism

Deadline: 15 June 2021

Program duration: Three weeks (from September 16 to October 6, 2021)

Language: English

Location: Online (due to covid restrictions)

  • Benefits of RAF fellowship
  • It provides unique, extensive exposure to the UN, its routine work and its people, through exclusive trainings, briefings and interviews with top UN officials.
  • Fellows will attend special briefings and interact with and share ideas with colleagues from around the world.


Fellows must fulfill the following requirements:

  • Be full time journalist between 22 – 35 years
  • Good knowledge of English
  • Freelance journalists can also apply to provide that they can provide evidence showing the direct relevance of their work to the UN Priorities.
  • Be a national of the following countries:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cabo Verde, Cambodia, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Chile, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cote d’Ivoire, Cuba, Cyprus, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Israel, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Lao, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestine (State of), Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Required documents:

  • 3 samples of published work. If it is in a language other than English, Arabic, Chinese, French, Russian and Spanish, please provide a short description about it. You can share the link of your work samples or upload them on the application form
  • Reference letter from current employer
  • CV in English or French
  • Your educational documents- the most recent degree you have obtained


Applicants can apply online using the online application of Reham Al-Farra memorial Journalism Fellowship.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.