2023 Sheikh Zayed Book Award (AED 750,000)

Submission deadline: October 1st, 2022

Opportunity Description


The Sheikh Zayed Book Award, one of the Arab world’s most recognized and well-funded literary prizes, is now inviting submissions for its 2023 edition. The award is an independent cultural initiative run by the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi.

The Award, which has been called the “the Arab world’s equivalent to the Nobel prize,” now has a reputation for highlighting the most amazing and often the most challenging works from and about the Arab world. So, each edition of the award rewards writers, translators, academics, publishers, and cultural organizations from across the world for their outstanding contributions to advancing Arabic literature and culture. Furthermore, winning the Award has helped writers and organizations to broaden and develop their respective projects.

Start of application: June 1, 2022


Submission deadline: October 1st, 2022

Organizing institution:  Sheikh Zayed Book Award_ Department of Culture & Tourism, Abu Dhabi

Ceremony location: UAE, Abu Dhabi

Awards presentation ceremony date: May 2023

Eligible countries: All

Award value

Total award: 7 million UAE Dirhams.

In general, each prize consists of a: gold medal with the Sheikh Zayed Book Award logo, a merit certificate, and a cash prize. In particular, each winner of the Award’s nine categories will be rewarded with a cash prize of 750,000 UAE dirhams (US$ 204,000) to both recognize and further support their creative and cultural accomplishments. The total prize value equals seven million UAE Dirhams (USD $1.9m) annually.

And, the Cultural Personality of the Year receives a prize of one million UAE Dirhams.

Award objectives

It honors intellectuals, researchers, and authors who have made extraordinary contributions to modern-day literature, social sciences, culture, and knowledge. Applicants submit their book or literary work for this award.


Authors, academics, publishers, translators, and literary originations of any country can make submissions, and the organizer welcomes them from all countries in Arabic and other languages.

Award categories

The Sheikh Zayed Book Award includes nine categories, representing the variety and breadth of Arab culture:

  1. Literature (including both fiction and poetry)
  2. Young Author (for writers aged below 40)
  3. Children’s Literature
  4. Cultural Personality of the Year
  5. Publishing and Technology
  6. Arabic Culture in Other Languages
  7. Translation (either into or from Arabic)
  8. Literary and Art Criticism
  9. Contribution to the Development of Nations

Apply Here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *