Trace Foundation Prize for Investigative Reporting 2022 ($10,000 prize)

Submissions open until 31 January 2023

Opportunity Description

About the prize

The TRACE Foundation is now inviting entries for the 2021 Prize for Investigative Reporting. The 2021 theme of the prize is the “TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting: Uncovering Commercial Bribery.” The TRACE Prize for Investigative Reporting honors journalists’ work that unearths business-related bribery and financial crime to increase commercial transparency and good governance. Hence, this is a unique opportunity for investigative reporters to get their work recognized internationally.


Submissions open until 31 January 2023

Awarding organization: Trace Foundation 

Focus area of the prize: Journalism

Number of winners: 2


Two cash prizes of USD10, 000 will be given to each of the winners. Furthermore, reporter(s) will receive an invitation to an award ceremony hosted by TRACE.

The judges may also name up to two honorable mentions, who will each earn US$1,000.

Eligibility criteria

  • Investigative reporters who meet the eligibility criteria from any country can apply.
  • Nominees may be print, broadcast, or online journalists who have done research (es) into commercial bribery schemes, business activities that create serious conflicts of interest, or similar commercial delinquency.
  • Team entries and several submissions per author are permitted.
  • Entries must involve business-related bribery or financial crime.
  • Entrants may submit their own work, or they may nominate the work of someone else. In this case, please achieve their permission to do so.
  • Entries must have appeared in print, online, or broadcast media during 2020. Any entry not originally written/produced in English must have an English translation.
  • Books are not accepted.
  • If an entry only appeared in print, please include a scan. If a scan does not indicate a clear result, please also include a transcript (Word document or PDF) of the article.
  • And, in case an entry is broadcast journalism (TV, radio, and online video), please send a link or file.


A panel of independent judges will evaluate the submissions and select up to two winners.

How To Apply

Entrants can apply online for the award.

Apply Now

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *